World Music  USA  Protest Songs
Pete Seeger American Industrial Ballads SFW40058 CD
1 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 05 August 2021 Price: 15.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40058
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date31/05/2013
Release date01/01/1992

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Songs of struggle which emerged from the coal mines, textile mills and acres of farmland, and spoke of issues important to the American laborer. Twenty-four songs written about the unprecedented industrialization of the 19th century, including Peg and Awl, The Farmer is the Man, and Winnsboro Cotton Mill Blues. Irwin Silber's notes provide a history of labor folk song and its role in American popular music. "Seeger's straightforward, sincere singing is accompanied by sparse, effective banjo and important reissue." —Sing Out

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Peg And Awl02:29
      • 2.The Blind Fiddler01:17
      • 3.The Buffalo Skinnners02:44
      • 4.Eight-Hour Day01:00
      • 5.Hard Times In The Mill02:15
      • 6.Roll Down The Line03:15
      • 7.Hayseed Like Me01:16
      • 8.The Farmer Is The Man01:43
      • 9.Come All You Hardy Miners02:00
      • 10.He Lies In The American Land02:01
      • 11.Casey Jones02:20
      • 12.Let Them Wear Their Watches Fi03:41
      • 13.Cotton Mill Colic01:40
      • 14.Seven Cent Cotton And Forty Cent Meat01:58
      • 15.Mill Mother's Lament01:37
      • 16.Fare Ye Well, Old Ely Branch02:11
      • 17.Beans, Bacon, And Gravy02:56
      • 18.The Death Of Harry Simms02:14
      • 19.Winnsboro Cotton Mill Blues01:09
      • 20.Ballad Of Barney Graham01:48
      • 21.My Children Are Seven In Number03:59
      • 22.Raggedy02:32
      • 23.Pittsburgh Town01:30
      • 24.Sixty Per Cent01:00
      • Total:50:35