Jazz  Allgemein
Espoo Big Band plays Husband Lauma GMC071 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 27 October 2021 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberGMC071
labelGalileo MC
Release date17/03/2017
  • Anssi Nykänen: Drums
  • Ari Jokelainen: Saxophone
  • Eerik Siikasaari: Bass
  • Harri Rantanen: Bass
  • Janne Toivonen: Trumpet
  • Jarmo Saair: Guitar, Theremin, Ominichord
  • Juha Kortehisto: Trombone
  • Juho Viljanen: Trombone
  • Jukka Eskola: Trumpet
  • Jukka Tiirikainen: Trumpet
  • Jussi kannaste: Saxophone
  • Kasperi Sarikoski: Trombone
  • Lenni-Kalle Taipale: Piano
  • Manuel Dunkel: Saxophone
  • Marzi Nyman: Conductor, Guitar
  • Mikko Innanen: Saxophone
  • Pekka Laukkanen: Trombone
  • Petri "Pope" Puolitaival: Saxophone
  • Rami Eskelinen: Drums
  • Sami Pöyhönen: Trumpet
  • Tero Lindberg: Trumpet
  • Valtteri Malmivirta: Trombone
  • Varre Vartiainen: Guitar

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Espoo Big Band (EBB) is one of Finland’s most prominent big jazz orchestras and it’s especially known for performing new Finnish big band music. The band was established in 1980 and has performed at major festivals around the world.

      The band has released now with “Lauma” an album full of original music from a Finnish rock fusion band called Husband. The music of Varre Vartiainen and Jarmo Saari has been arranged for EBB and Husband by Saari, Lenni-Kalle Taipale and Marzi Nyman.

      “For me, being a musician has always meant belonging to a group. A pack, a flock, a herd. That’s what this album is about. At the core is a rough quartet of grown men playing loud, guitar-driven fusion – or as the composer and bandleader Varre Vartiainen puts it ”Jazz for drunks” – a tight foursome. Mashed up with it is the prestigious Espoo Big Band; a versatile group of best jazz players in Finland, all dear friends.

      Captured on this album is the mutual love and laughter, the shared sorrow of losing a herd member, and the joint amazement of each other’s musical minds at work, recorded on a studio live setting. The result is a vividly bubbling album rich with detail, a document of a pack of players proving there is strenght in numbers!”

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.(I’m Your Husband) Überture02:58
      • 2.Sir Dalud09:26
      • 3.Lauma08:08
      • 4.Kue04:53
      • 5.St. John06:19
      • 6.Aaduur08:52
      • 7.Facelift06:08
      • 8.Bebyy08:50
      • 9.R.I.P. Interlude03:12
      • 10.In Memoriam06:04
      • Total:01:04:50