World Music  Asien  Allgemein
The Badakhshan Ensemble Music of Central Asia Vol. 5: The Badakhshan Ensemble: Song and Dance from the Pamir Mountains SFW40524 CD/DVD
1 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 08 February 2023 Price: 21.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD / DVD Video
Ordering NumberSFW40524
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date08/02/2013
Release date25/09/2007

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      In the majestic Pamir Mountains of Tajikistan, poetically called the "Roof of the World", trance-like rhythms and piercing melodies propel these vivid performances of Badakhshani folk songs, dance music, and mystical religious poetry that can embody the spiritual power known as baraka. A bonus DVD portrays the Badakhsan ensemble in the Pamir Mountains in Tajikistan melding the sounds of their different traditional instruments with the help of a Ghijak. 10 Tracks, 64 minutes, 44-page color booklet, photos, and song lyrics; DVD contains series introduction, 24-minute film, interactive glossary, and map. Music of Central Asia is a co-production of the Aga Khan Music Initiative in Central Asia, a program of the Aga Khan Trust for Culture, and the Smithsonian Institution Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage. The aim of the series is to present leading exponents of Central Asia's rich and diverse musical heritage to listeners outside the region.

      Tracklist hide

      CD/DVD 1
      • 1.Falak-i Badakhshani
      • 2.Ay Pari (Oh, Fairy)
      • 3.Zohidi Pokizasirisht (Pious Ascetic)
      • 4.Lolazorume (Tulip Garden)
      • 5.Falak
      • 6.Maddoh (Praise)
      • 7.Rapo
      • 8.Khâlatro Banda (I'm a Slave of Your Mole)
      • 9.Jonum, Ikhtiyor Dorî (My Life is in Your Hands & Yor-i Man (My Friend)
      • 10.Sabzak Medley