World Music  USA  Folk
Cinder Well Cadence DIRT-CD-0110 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 19 June 2024 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDIRT-CD-0110
labelFree Dirt Records
Release date12/05/2023
  • Amelia Baker: vocals, guitar, fiddle, organ, piano
  • Cormac MacDiarmada: fiddle
  • Jake Falby: viola
  • Neal Heppleston: bass
  • Nich Wilbur: organ
  • Phillip Rogers: drums
  • Nich Wilbur at The Unknown, Anacortes, WA
Recording Studio
  • Harlan Steinberger at Hen House Studios, Venice Beach, CA
  • John "Spud" Murphy at Guerilla Studios, Dublin Ireland
  • Nich Wilbur at The Unknown, Anacortes WA
  • Nich Wilbur at The Unknown, Anacortes, WA
  • Georgia Zeavin
Cover Artwork
  • Dan MacDonald Studios

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Oceans flow through the center of Cinder Well’s music. Cadence, the new album from Amelia Baker’s experimental folk project, drifts between two far-flung seas: the hazy California coast where she grew up, and the wind-torn swells of Western Ireland that she’s come to love. Written soon after the release of 2020’s acclaimed No Summer, Baker returned to her hometown in central California to record at Harlan Steinberger’s nearby Hen House Studios in Venice Beach. Inspired by this new setting, Baker expand- ed Cinder Well’s sound to include percussion, provided by her old friend Phillip Rogers (Haley Heynderickx), as well as trance electric guitar and expansive string parts courtesy Cormac MacDiarmada of Lankum. The doom folk and traditional Irish influences of No Summer are still present but often give way to a more optimistic and relaxed atmosphere that nods to LA’s mythical Laurel Canyon years. Across nine epic tracks, Baker treads a sonic and lyrical path between the two coastal towns she calls home, her transcen- dental voice given new wings by the record’s sweeping arrangements. “Overgrown” is the first major key Cinder Well song in nearly a decade while the uneasy and pulsating title track is a love letter to the self for our darkest days. Fittingly, Baker opens Cadence with a song about selkies—seals that turn human on land. More than just a bit of folklore, shapeshifting selkies are a metaphor for Baker herself: a songwriter tied to the ebb and flow of the ocean (and humanity's) currents, whether they be half a world away or a few steps from home.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Two Heads, Grey Mare04:41
      • 2.Overgrown04:26
      • 3.Returning04:11
      • 4.Cadence06:47
      • 5.Well on Fire01:36
      • 6.Crow05:48
      • 7.Gone the Holding04:26
      • 8.A Scorched Lament05:09
      • 9.I Will Close in the Moonlight03:36
      • Total:40:40