World Music  USA  Afro-American
Bessie Jones & John Davis & The Georgia Sea Island Singers The Complete Friends of Old-Time Music Concert SFW40258 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 25 July 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40258
Release date14/06/2024
Players/ContributorsGuest musician

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Bessie Jones, John Davis, and the Georgia Sea Island Singers gained wide renown during the 1960s and ‘70s for their powerful performances of traditional songs from the African American Gullah Geechee community on St. Simons Island, Georgia. Most in the group were born and raised on St. Simons, and could trace their ancestry to the enslaved West and Central Africans who worked on the island’s cotton plantations. Throughout the ‘60s, the Georgia Sea Island Singers were prominent voices in the civil rights movement, bringing hundreds of years of Black musical tradition to bear on a pivotal time in American history. This previously unheard recording captures their complete Friends of Old Time Music concert of April 1965, at which they were joined by legendary bluesman Mississippi Fred McDowell, cane fife player Ed Young, and folklorist Alan Lomax, who acted as emcee. The album showcases a variety of traditional music from the Island and beyond, including stirring work songs, emotionally charged spirituals, jubilant songs for children, and revelatory renditions of Mississippi blues.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Intro - Alan Lomax / Travelin' Shoes02:29
      • 2.Handclapping and cane fife03:07
      • 3.Buzzard Lope (dance) - In That Old Field02:12
      • 4.Josephine01:14
      • 5.Goodbye My Riley O02:41
      • 6.Go Row the Boat Child01:39
      • 7.Join the Band01:26
      • 8.Sink 'Em Low02:29
      • 9.Going Down to the River03:30
      • 10.Shake 'Em on Down03:04
      • 11.Once There Was No Sun02:40
      • 12.Adam in the Garden01:26
      • 13.Who Built the Ark01:38
      • 14.Let My Children Go03:19
      • 15.My God Is a Rock04:14
      • 16.I Heard the Angels Singing03:11
      • 17.Read 'Em John01:37
      • 18.Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning03:32
      • 19.Sign of the Judgment02:45
      • 20.Chevrolet04:22
      • 21.Write Me a Few of Your Lines03:29
      • 22.Don't Ever Leave Me03:56
      • 23.Marching on the Mississippi Line03:12
      • 24.Down to the Mire03:18
      • 25.Before This Time Another Year04:56
      • Total:01:11:26