World Music  Asien  Allgemein
Aga Khan Master Musicians Nowruz SFW40597 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 28 June 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40597
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date08/12/2023
  • Abbos Kosimov: doira, chang qobuz (jaw harp), riq, tar (frame drum)
  • Basel Rajoub: saxophone, duclar, doholla
  • Feras Charestan: qanun
  • Jasser Haj Youssef: viola d’amore
  • Sirojiddin Juraev: dutar, tanbur
  • Wu Man: pipa
Guest musician
  • Levent Yildirim: doholla
  • Fairouz Nishanova and Theodore Levin
  • Feras Charestan and Gabriel Lundh, The Dome, Stockholm
Recording Studio
  • Kitchen Studio, Geneva, Switzerland
  • Studio de la Fonderie, Fribourg, Switzerland
  • Gabriel Lundh, The Dome, Stockholm
  • Sebastian Schutyser
Cover Artwork
  • Zena Sabbagh

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      In Nowruz, their accomplished debut album, the Aga Khan Master Musicians (AKMM) draw on music from Central Asia, China, the Middle East, and North Africa to create a strikingly original body of work where living musical traditions meet and meld. Acclaimed virtuosos on their respective instruments, the six members of AKMM deftly blend pipa, qanun, dutar, viola d’amore, saxophone, and a panoply of percussion into a soulful new musical language that comes alive in these eloquent performances.

      • “The Music Programme demonstrates how to make music come alive in all forms that speak to contemporary audiences, particularly young audiences, to strengthen a sense of shared values, while simultaneously encouraging curiosity, tolerance, and cosmopolitanism.” — THE.ISLMALI

      • “[The Master Musicians] share a belief that tradition can serve as an invaluable compass for an artistic search into new forms of creativity inspired, but not constrained, by the past.” — HOPKINS CENTER FOR THE ARTS AT DARTMOUTH

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Tashkent03:02
      • 2.Samai05:35
      • 3.Teahouse04:59
      • 4.Madad02:24
      • 5.Awdeh05:49
      • 6.Mehan04:45
      • 7.Cadence03:25
      • 8.MashqiDutar05:30
      • 9.Jul Dance05:09
      • 10.Autumn Flowers And Leaves03:36
      • 11.Illi04:18
      • 12.Nowruz03:47
      • Total:52:19