World Music  USA  Folk
Pharis & Jason Romero Tell 'em You Were Gold SFW40246 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 17 April 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40246
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date16/09/2022
  • Jason Romero: Banjo, Vocals
  • Pharis Romero: Guitar, Guitar Banjo, Vocals
Guest musician
  • Grace Forrest: Fiddle (Tracks Nr 7, 13, 16)
  • John Reischman: Mandolin
  • Marc Jenkins: Pedal Steel
  • Trent Freeman: Fiddle (Track Nr 4)
Producer Mixer
  • John Raham at Afterlife Studios
  • D. James Goodwin at the Isokon

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Pharis and Jason Romero are pure craftspeople. A renowned banjo builder, Jason spent years developing his own personal designs, and on Tell ‘Em You Were Gold, his handmade instruments take center stage. Over a half dozen uniquely crafted banjos are played by the duo in the course of the album. There’s conviction and delicacy in this music, which ranges from duets that showcase the pair’s deep psychic and artistic connection to solo banjo meditations and full band romps. Recorded over six days in an old barn in Horsefly, British Columbia, the album displays the multiple Juno Award-winning duo playing music that is honest, direct, and reflective of life’s beauty and knottiness.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Souvenir03:23
      • 2.Cold Creek Shout03:00
      • 3.Rolling Mills03:58
      • 4.Sour Queen03:35
      • 5.Pale Morning02:33
      • 6.Train on the Island02:34
      • 7.Lady on the Green03:01
      • 8.Cannot Change It All04:27
      • 9.The Dose02:05
      • 10.SS Radiant03:17
      • 11.Been All Around This World03:30
      • 12.Black Guard Mary03:08
      • 13.Going to Town02:04
      • 14.Going Across the Sea03:39
      • 15.Five Miles From Town02:48
      • 16.Old Bill's Tune03:05
      • Total:50:07