World Music  Allgemein
Sunny Jain Wild Wild East SFW40588 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 26 September 2020 Price: 16.55 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40588
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date13/03/2020

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Sunny Jain’s Wild Wild East encompasses myriad facets of Jain’s identity both as a first-generation South Asian–American and as a global musician, from his own family’s immigration story to his eclectic musical upbringing. In recasting the immigrant—steeped in the courage to leave a familiar homeland for a new beginning—as the modern-day cowboy and cowgirl, Jain sources musical inspiration from the scores of Bollywood classics and Spaghetti Westerns, Indian folk traditions, jazz improvisation, and rollicking psychedelic and surf guitar styles. Wild Wild East is an album rooted in the contemporary American soundscape, singing in a new voice, "I am large, I contain multitudes."

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Immigrant Warrior05:47
      • 2.Wild Wild East 04:57
      • 3.Osian06:34
      • 4.Red, Brown, Black 04:14
      • 5.Aye Mere Dil Kahin Aur Chal (Remembrance) 00:36
      • 6.Aye Mere Dil Kahin Aur Chal03:18
      • 7.Bhaagi 04:22
      • 8.Blackwell 04:09
      • 9.Hai Apna Dil to Aawara01:58
      • 10.Tumse Lagi Lagan 04:32
      • 11.Maitri Bhavanu06:15
      • 12.Brooklyn Dhamal03:40
      • Total:50:22