Jazz  Allgemein
Espoo Big Band Espoo Suite GMC084 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 23 September 2020 Price: 16.55 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberGMC084
labelGalileo MC
Release date29/03/2019
  • Ari Jokelainen: Saxophone
  • Eerik Siikasaari: Bass
  • Jarmo Saari: Guitar
  • Jaska Lukkarinen: Drums
  • Jay Kortehisto: Trombone
  • Juho Viljanen: Trombone
  • Jukka Eskola: Trumpet
  • Lenni-Kalle Taipale: Piano
  • Manuel Dunkel: Saxophone
  • Markus Larjomaa: Trombone
  • Marzi Nyman: Conductor, Guitar
  • Mikko Innanen: Saxophone
  • Pekka Laukkanen: Trombone
  • Pemo Ojala: Trumpet
  • Pope Puolitaival: Saxophone
  • Rami Eskelinen: Drums
  • Sami Pöyhönen: Trumpet
  • Sampo Kasurinen: Saxophone
  • Tero Lindberg: Trumpet

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Espoo Big Band (EBB) is one of Finland’s most prominent big jazz orchestras and it’s especially known for performing new Finnish big band music. The band was established in 1980. Previously EBB has toured in Asia, Australia and Brazil, performed at several great festivals such as Detroit, Montreaux and Paris and released ten albums. EBB hosts annually one of Finland’s biggest jazz festivals, April Jazz where it has accompanied jazz masters like Freddie Hubbard, Ray Charles, McCoy Tyner, Joe Henderson, Billy Cobham, Trilok Gurtu, Diane Schuur, Patti Austin, Carla Bley and Maria Schneider.

      About Espoo Suite

      “Espoo is a city with a personality that’s difficult to pin down; like the Switzerland of Finland. This album is my attempt to describe it through free-associative composing. What rose to the surface after stirring the bowl of my conscience, was a strong feel of community and connection between the people of Espoo, getting things done together. For me, there is no community tighter or warmer than the Espoo Big Band. This music is a tribute to that connection, dedicated to the friendship we get to share. To the brotherhood.“ (Marzi Nyman)

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Quiet Flows the Aspen River11:31
      • 2.Brotherhood08:43
      • 3.Igor's Lament07:44
      • 4.Moonshine Chase07:45
      • 5.Finale10:13
      • 6.Espoo Blues13:13
      • Total:59:09