World Music  Mittelamerika  Mexiko
Flaco & Max Legends & Legacies SFW40569 CD
1 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 25 September 2020 Price: 16.55 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberSFW40569
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date21/03/2014

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      In the world of accordion-driven Tejano conjunto music, Flaco Jiménez and Max Baca are at once pillars of the past and forgers of the future. Legends and Legacies spotlights these larger-than-life artists, each an inheritor of a musical legacy from his father and grandfather, and each a dynamic force of musical genius. This recording captures the essential sounds of conjunto tradition with Flaco’s 3-row button accordion and Max’s deep-pitched bajo sexto. Electric bass and drum kit round out the ensemble. 58 mintues, 44-page booket with bilingual notes and photos.

      Born in 1939 into a line of pioneering accordionists, Flaco Jiménez is arguably the most recognized and acclaimed artist in Tejano and conjunto music, recording dozens of albums and collaborating with such artists as The Rolling Stones, Dwight Yoakam, and Ry Cooder. Max Baca is best known as leader of the band Los Texmaniacs, whose infectious combination of country, rock and conjunto won them a GRAMMY for their 2009 Smithsonian Folkways album Borders y Bailes in addition to a GRAMMY nomination for their follow up Smithsonian Folkways release Texas Towns & Tex-Mex Sounds. Jiménez has won GRAMMYs for his own recordings and for albums with the Texas Tornados.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Margarita, Margarita03:06
      • 2.Cada Vez Que Cae La Tarde (Each Time the Afternoon Wanes)03:51
      • 3.El Pesudo (The Man With Lots Of Pesos)03:54
      • 4.Me Voy Lejos (I'm Going Far Away)03:13
      • 5.Borradita Diente De Oro (Bright-Eyed Golden-Tooth Girl)03:55
      • 6.La Múcura (The Clay Jug)03:46
      • 7.Mi Primer Amor (My First Love)02:44
      • 8.El Parrandero (The Man On A Spree)04:27
      • 9.Los Amores De José (José's Loves)03:29
      • 10.Brincando Cercas (Jumping Fences)02:47
      • 11.Jardín De Las Flores (Garden Of the Flowers)03:21
      • 12.La Viejita (The Little Old Lady)02:35
      • 13.Beer-Drinking Polka02:25
      • 14.La Nueva Zenaida (The New Zenaida)03:35
      • 15.Morena, Morenita (Dark Woman, Little Dark Woman)03:20
      • 16.Ay Te Guacho Cucaracho (See You Later, Alligator)05:21
      • 17.Fiesta Alegre (Joyful Fiesta)02:49
      • Total:58:38