World Music  Balkan
Balkan Airs feat. Otros Aires Otros Aires presents Balkan Airs GMC078 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 30 May 2024 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberGMC078
labelGalileo MC
Release date15/12/2017

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      A mix of Tango and Balkan music, is that possible? Definitely, yes! Balkan Airs, the new project of Otros Aires, one of the most important and successful contemporary tango bands of the last decade, and the Bulgarian producer Boyko, is the best proof for it. Balkan Airs is composed by the Balkans and Argentina, the origins of the musicians. The idea for this special collaboration occurred in 2012. Boyko arranged the Otros Aires Song “Los Vino” in Balkan style for his Ethno project “Chalga”. This version was so successful that it wasn’t very difficult to convince Miguel Di Genova from Otros Aires to launch a new project in order to join the Argentinian milonga with gypsy music.

      The work on this album lasted 4 years and was made on 2 continents. While Boyko produced in his studio in Sofia, Miguel Di Genova recorded vocal and piano parts in Buenos Aires. The biggest challenge was to find the right balance between milonga and gypsy style. This required to not limit the energy of the tango by the sound force of a gypsy band. Another difficulty was that the musicians never met physically. Most of the songs were composed originally by Miguel di Genova for Otros Aires. Boyko on the other hand side contributed with „Aide Ko Pazari“ and “Romano Chavo” two compositions, that are based on gypsy traditionals. “Milonga Sentimental“ and „La Yumba“ are classical tango tunes by other renown composers.

      The new album „Balkan Airs” is phenomenal mix of two great musical cultures between Argentina and the Balkans. Two musical languages that are mixed together to a melodic, catchy new genre that will convince both fans of Otros Aires and Gypsy fans.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Parni Roklia / Amor Que Se Baila03:31
      • 2.Mange Kralica / Con Hachazo Al Costado04:11
      • 3.Balkan Sin Rumbo03:40
      • 4.Aide Ko Pazari03:19
      • 5.Los Vino / Movilo02:41
      • 6.Milonga Sentimental / Mi Dona03:28
      • 7.Romano Chavo04:45
      • 8.La Yumba02:47
      • 9.Taro Ekvado / Rotos En El Raval04:05
      • 10.Mi Muka / Tristeza De Arrabal04:22
      • 11.Mange Kralica (Solo) / Con Hachazo al Costado04:11
      • 12.Taro Ekvador (Solo) / Rotos En El Raval04:05
      • 13.Milonga Sentimental / Mi Dona (Gypsy)03:27
      • Total:48:32