World Music  Afrika  Reunión
Oriane Lacaille iViV IGN0023 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 24 July 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberIGN0023
Release date19/01/2024
  • Ehrlich, Loy: guembri (Lam la mer) (Track Nr 8)
  • Freddy Boisliveau: guitare dobro, EBow, banjo, guitare
  • Héloise Divilly: Chant, batterie, kayanm, percussions
  • JereM Boucris: choeurs (Lam la mer) (Track Nr 8)
  • Lacaille, Oriane: Chant, ukuleles soprano, diatonique et baryton, aouicha, kayanm, tambour
  • Lacaille, Rene: Accordéon (Lam la mer) (Track Nr 8)
  • Laura Cahen: chant, guitare (Fler) (Track Nr 7)
  • McCalla, Leyla: Chant, violoncelle (iViV) (Track Nr 5)
  • Piers Faccini: chant, guitare (Li bat) (Track Nr 3)
  • Yann-Lou Bertrand: chant, contrebasse, trompette, flute traversiere
  • Ignatub
  • Freddy Boisliveau
Recording Studio
  • Leyla McCall:Jean Lamoot aux Studios Mercredi 9 a Paris (Track Nr 5)
  • Love Island (Angers) (Track Nr 3)
  • Studio Marceau a Montreuil (Track Nr 7)
  • Studio des Figurines, Freddy Boisliveau
  • Peter Deimel
  • Cahuate Milk
Cover Artwork
  • Valentine Hebert

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Oriane Lacaille, singer-songwriter and percussionist from Reunion Island, presents iViV, the first album under her name. In the Lacaille family, the accordionist René was one of the renewers of Reunionese music in the 1970s, with his accomplices Alain Péters and Danyel Waro. Oriane his daughter, who grew up in France but is steeped in the island's maloya and sega ryhthms, is perpetuating this family tradition which, in the generations before hers, was forbidden to women. Having also inherited the idea that music is a collective gesture that embraces the community, she has long expressed herself with others, notably within the duos Titi Zaro (with Coline Linder) and Bonbon Vodou (with JereM Boucris).

      Oriane Lacaille, singer-percussionist who also plays ukulele and aouicha (a small gnawa guembri), is not alone on iViV, for which she composed most of the tracks. She is accompanied by Héloïse Divilly on drums and Yann-Lou Bertrand on double bass, trumpet, & flute. They also bring the vocal harmonies to her songs which are underlaid by the undulating ternary rhythms of Reunion Island. She has also invited some great guests: Piers Faccini, who encouraged her to take the plunge, Leyla McCalla, Laura Cahen, Loy Ehrlich (Hadouk Trio) and of course René Lacaille. With the sweetness of nursery rhymes or the intensity of trance music, Oriane Lacaille sings about joy and about rage, assimilating her family heritage into her own affirmed personality; iViV marks the blossoming of her Creole trajectory.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Je Suis La Fleur Qui Ne Poussera Jamais04:19
      • 2.Kaf Do Lo03:22
      • 3.Li Bat05:04
      • 4.L’Unique Mot02:44
      • 5.Iviv03:23
      • 6.Aouicha Dancefloor03:43
      • 7.Flèr04:58
      • 8.Lam La Mer05:52
      • 9.Ride02:53
      • 10.Timo05:20
      • 11.Mi Pans Aou03:27
      • Total:45:05