Rock  Progressive
King Crimson Music is our Friend 3LP (200gm vinyl) - LIVE IN WASHINGTON and ALBANY, 2021 KCLPBX504 3 LP
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 31 May 2024 Price: 79.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

Format3 Vinyl LP
Ordering NumberKCLPBX504
Release date03/11/2023
Tags: prog70ies

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      • Limited edition 3LP set
      • Taken from King Crimson’s final US concert in Washington, DC, September 2021
      • Four additional tracks taken from the first concert of the second leg of that US tour in Albany, New York, in August 2021
      • Cut by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering
      • Pressed on 200gram vinyl at the Vinyl Factory, UK

      Music is our Friend – Named after the tour from which the performances were taken, “Music Is Our Friend” is an official bootleg featuring all of King Crimson’s final performance in North America at Washington in September, 2021.

      It is now being made available as a limited edition 3LP set, re-sequenced from the CD running order to maintain the complete release, including the four pieces from the first concert of the tour’s second leg in Albany. Taken together, these tracks represent both a beginning and an end of a tour that took place despite almost insurmountable issues.

      Originally scheduled for 2020, postponed for a full year because of the pandemic, the tour began in July 2021 in Florida as the latest Covid wave hit and the band moved across the country in a tour bus bubble.

      Following a two-week break due to scheduling conflicts, the band took to the road again, with the Zappa Band appearing nightly before Crimson.

      Now facing gigs that had to be moved due to extreme weather, with one venue flooded a day before a concert, an open-air venue in New York transferred to the more familiar Beacon Theatre, and even a band member flown to hospital via helicopter, King Crimson faced a range of challenging conditions. Happily, the band member fully recovered and no gigs were missed despite the array of setbacks and obstacles.

      By the time King Crimson reached Washington, the band was in ferocious form with a powerful, energetic set with some arrangements reworked and differing from previous tours. Featuring a restored middle section of ‘Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part One’ that had not been played since 1973, substantial keyboard arrangements, Tony Levin on upright bass during ‘Neurotica’ giving the piece an extra swing, an emotional Starless and an immensely powerful ‘21st Century Schizoid Man’ as an encore.

      King Crimson completed their tour in style and to much acclaim from fans and critics alike. As Robert Fripp notes in his diary entry included in the notes: “David (Singleton, KC manager/producer), pointed out that the very first piece KC played in the US, at Godard College, Montpelier, Vermont on October 29th. 1969, was the same piece as completed KC’s 52 years – 21CSM”.

      The four performances from the ‘Friends and Family’ concert in late August 2021 at The Egg in Albany, the opening show of the second leg of the tour and the same venue where the current band played its first US gig in 2014, add material not played in Washington due to time constraints.

      David Singleton, who also prepared all the audio for this release, thought it one of the best sets the band played on this or previous tours.

      As Robert wrote in his diary at the time:

      A completion is a new beginning – Robert Fripp, September, 2021

      Tracklist hide

      LP 1
      • Side A
        • 1.Introductory Soundscape06:53
        • 2.The Hell Hounds Of Krim03:35
        • 3.Larks' Tongues In Aspic Part I08:03
        • 4.Pictures Of A City08:35
      • Side B
        • 5.The Court Of The Crimson King09:46
        • 6.Red06:07
        • 7.Tony Cadenza Deals It Slitheryacious-To-The-Max01:10
        • 8.Neurotica04:46
      • Total:48:55
      LP 2
      • Side C
        • 1.One More Red Nightmare06:08
        • 2.Indiscipline09:21
        • 3.Larks' Tongues In Aspic Part II06:53
      • Side D
        • 4.Epitaph09:07
        • 5.Radical Action II02:29
        • 6.Level Five07:06
      • Total:41:04
      LP 3
      • Side E
        • 1.Tony Cadenza Serves It Piping Hot01:18
        • 2.Discipline05:08
        • 3.Starless15:21
      • Side F
        • 4.Islands09:09
        • 5.21st Century Schizoid Man14:48
      • Total:45:44