World Music  Afrika  Afrobeat
Diverse Republicafrobeat vol.6 - Afrobeat Ibérico KM23002 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 30 May 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberKM23002
Release date20/10/2023

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      In 2023, the A.C. AfrobeatProject celebrates 20 years of Afrobeat travel around the world. It has been an exciting and nourishing adventure that makes us proud. That's why, together with Kasba Music, we want to celebrate it with the release of a new volume of REPUBLICAFROBEAT.

      Volume 6 of REPUBLICAFROBEAT will be called AFROBEAT IBÉRICO and aims to reflect the Afrobeat scene in Galicia, the Basque Country, Asturias, Catalonia, Madrid, Aragon, Extremadura, Andalusia and Portugal. The Iberian Peninsula is a melting pot of cultures, a land of comings and goings where the black presence and multiracial coexistence has been relevant for centuries. Its music has deeply permeated among its people. And Afrobeat, a musical genre created by Nigerians Fela Kuti and Tony Allen, has been a protagonist for decades. Originally conceived as a tool for social engagement, it is a vehicle for connection regardless of colour, race, religion, gender, identity or ideology.

      Afrobeat is practised all over the world, from Israel to Brazil, from Poland to the United States, from Chile to Mozambique, from Puerto Rico to Nigeria, from Austria to Ethiopia, from Japan to Mexico, from Senegal to Colombia and many more. A few years ago, in 2012, the A.C. AfrobeatProject published the album La Música Es el Arma del Futuro. A Tribute to Fela from Spanish Bands, where we reflected the Afrobeat scene in Spain through versions of Fela. Now, in this REPUBLICAFROBEAT VOL.6- AFROBEAT IBÉRICO, we want to extend the sample with original songs from some of the bands that make up the Iberian geography: Macheta SupahSound (Galiza); Makala and Makulu Ken (Basque Country); Gecko Turner (Extremadura); Eskorzo and Los 300 (Andalusia); Akin & The Afrobeat Brothers (Asturies); Afro Soul Toasting, Ogun Afrobeat, Juno & Darrell and Kumar Sublevao-Beat & Machete Horns (Madrid); Alma Afrobeat Ensemble and Kwame Adzraku (Catalonia); Couscous Party (Aragon); and Cacique'97, Carapaus Orkestra and Kumpania Algazarra (Portugal), and the contribution of the remixers Oscar B. Martos, Dj Panko and Dj Floro.

      The design is the work of Txarly Brown.

      Enjoy the journey.

      For Ever Lives Afrobeat!

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Gecko Turner45.000$ (Guapapasea)05:48
      • 2.Cacique’97Eu Quero Tudo04:15
      • 3.Juno & DarrellAfro Punk03:52
      • 4.Kumar Sublevao-Beat & Machete HornsAfrikun Ya Está En La Calle05:08
      • 5.Couscous PartyKalakuta Está Viva06:32
      • 6.Kwame Adzraku & Dj PankoDon’T Worry’ Bout Life (Dj Panko Remix)04:00
      • 7.Alma Afrobeat Ensemble & Ray LugoRoom Enough For Us-Terrificos Remix (Dinky Edit)04:22
      • 8.Los 300 Ft MacacoSurvivors04:55
      • 9.Carapaus OrkestraSlowly05:05
      • 10.Ogun AfrobeatFela Liks04:43
      • 11.Macheta SupahsoundMongo Blanco (Edit)06:08
      • 12.EskorzoSacrificio Del Alma (Edit)04:23
      • 13.MakalaAfrika Kontinente Ahaztua04:48
      • 14.Afro Soul ToastingBe A Looser02:58
      • 15.Akin & The Afrobeat BrothersYeserimawo03:49
      • 16.Makulu KenSo!03:55
      • 17.DiverseKumpania Algazarra Ft Ikonoklasta– Actuality03:45
      • Total:01:18:26