World Music  Portugal
LST - Lisboa String Trio Canções Concretas E Outras Histórias GMV130 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 17 July 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberGMV130
labelEspelho de Cultura
Release date22/09/2023
  • Carlos Barretto: double bass
  • Sofia Vitória: vocals, percussion
  • Marc Planells: oud, citar, percussion
  • Peixoto, Jose: Guitar

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Mixing World Music and Jazz elements, with those of Classical music, LST – Lisboa String Trio has created a new repertoir that can be listened in their new album “Canções Concretas e Outras Histórias” (Tangible Songs and Other Stories).

      After releasing three albums – “Matéria” (2014), awarded by the Carlos Paredes Prize in 2015, “Lisboa” (2016), nominated for the Best Album of 2016 category by the Portuguese Author's Society and “Aqui e Ali” (2020), being one of the songs “Ai mas ai de mim” (Tiago Torres da Silva/José Peixoto) performed by Cristina Branco, awarded by IPMA (International Portuguese Music Awards) in the category of “Best Fado Performance” –, LST - Lisboa String Trio closes a fruitful cycle.

      Two musicians remain from the previous line-up: José Peixoto (guitar) and Carlos Barretto (double bass). The new members who last integrated the group are the Catalan musician Marc Planells (lutes, sitar and percussion) and Sofia Vitória (voice), as a guest artist, succeeding gratifying collaborations of other voices such as Cristina Branco, Maria Berasarte and Ricardo Ribeiro. This new sound takes on new shades, explores new directions and maintains its ‘cultural location’. Beyond songs, and without losing sight of the instrumental matrix that characterizes its music, the group relies on Sofia Vitória's ability and skill to use the voice as an instrument, thanks to her jazz background.

      This new phase includes eleven themes. Six of those, signed by José Peixoto, are anchored in the unprecedented ‘open poetry’ of the author João Monge breaking with the more usual process of ‘lyrics-music’.

      This setup – a never-before-tested novelty in the creative relationship between these two authors – gives way to more open and abstract musical forms which approaches them to the very roots and identity of LST.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Laranjas Com Versos03:41
      • 2.Ouço Vozes03:51
      • 3.Chegar à Fala04:51
      • 4.A Voz das Pedras06:07
      • 5.O Outro Lado-Água e Sal05:45
      • 6.Bad Seed03:55
      • 7.Castiçal03:50
      • 8.Uma História Bizarra03:37
      • 9.Lá Fora o Sol03:41
      • 10.As Regras da Loucura03:13
      • 11.Alba05:55
      • Total:48:26