World Music  USA  Folk
Viv & Riley Imaginary People DIRT-CD-0113 CD
5 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 24 July 2024 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDIRT-CD-0113
labelFree Dirt Records
Release date08/12/2023
  • Alex Bingham: Bass, Synthesizers, MPC
  • Andy Stack: Drums, Organelle, Pump Organ
  • Bucket Bingham: Vocals
  • Riley Calcagno: Vocals, Guitar, Fiddle, Banjo
  • Sam Fribush: Keyboard, Banjo
  • Vivian Leva: Vocals, Guitar, Ice Cubes
  • Whit Wright: Pedal Steel
  • Alex Bingham

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      A bittersweet nostalgia lies at the heart of Imaginary People, the new album from indie roots duo Viv & Riley. Over tentracks, the pair applies an indie folk sheen to newlycomposed pop gems, a reworking of an ancient ballad, andeven an original fiddle tune, deftly weaving together the oldand new. In contrast to the sunny, lush production from AlexBingham of Hiss Golden Messenger, the lyrics leanmelancholic. “Kygers Hill” and “Sauvie Island” are both wistfulodes to locales where these two young master musiciansspent formative years developing a penchant for songwriting.Both musicians trace their original artistic inspiration to thedeep roots music they learned in their youths on oppositesides of the country. The duo’s continuing musical expansion is in part the fruition of their investment in themusic scene of their new home of Durham, NCwhich is known for its cross-genre collaborationand creatively articulated roots music. However,the tracklist is still peppered with pedal steel andthe rootsy fiddle and banjo trappings the pairemployed to acclaim on their previous tworeleases. As much as Imaginary People looks backto nostalgic yesteryears, it importantly marks thebeginning of a new direction for these songwritingvirtuosos.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Kygers Hill03:36
      • 2.Sauvie Island04:07
      • 3.The General02:53
      • 4.Is It All Over02:49
      • 5.Imaginary People04:08
      • 6.Flashing Lights03:44
      • 7.How to Lose03:52
      • 8.Chance Creek03:31
      • 9.The Long Way03:01
      • 10.The Blackest Crow04:58
      • Total:36:39