Jazz  Allgemein
Wolfgang Lackerschmid & Chet Baker Welcome Back DT8021 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 30 May 2024 Price: 15.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDT8021
labelDot Time Records
Release date18/11/2022
  • Baker, Chet: Trumpet
  • Edir Dos Santos: Guitar
  • Knauer, Rocky: Bass
  • Lackerschmid, Wolfgang: Vibraphone
  • Lenz, Gunter: Bass
  • Peri Dos Santos: Guitar
  • Stylo, Nicola: Flute (and guitar on Waltz for Berlin)

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      After many joint live performances and two record albums, this is the third document of the musical collaboration of esteemed vibraphonist Wolfgang Lackerschmid and legendary trumpet player Chet Baker.

      Recorded in August 1987, this wide-ranging release showcases vast musical landscapes, from poignant ballads to robust Latin rhythms, following in step their previous Dot Time releases, Quintet Sessions 1979 and Ballads for Two.

      On Welcome Back, Baker is in top form. Coming across as particularly sensitive, Baker has seldom been observed in such a relaxed mood. The ambiance of the studio with an open fireplace surely contributed to this setting - in fact, listeners can hear the crackling of the burning wood on select tracks. The compositions are lyrical and blend with his renowned, unobtrusively soft performance well, though there are no vocal performances here.

      Welcome Back finds Baker in exquisite form. The very lyrical compositions blend with Chet's "feeling" and his renowned, unobtrusively soft performance.

      While Wolfgang Lackerschmid still walks among us and is playing and composing actively, Chet Baker died tragically in Amsterdam on May 13, 1988. These recorded performances serve as a wonderful, if not melancholy memory of an extraordinary musician, who was unique in his own way. Dot Time Records is proud to further cement the legacy of these two great players with their Legends series.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Welcome Back03:52
      • 2.Christmas Waltz07:44
      • 3.Gloria's Answer05:34
      • 4.Pitztal Daybreak06:28
      • 5.Volta Trais05:00
      • 6.Try it Dry06:09
      • 7.Why Shouldn't You Cry05:46
      • 8.Wlatz for Berlin07:16
      • 9.Welcome Back05:35
      • Total:53:24