World Music  USA  Folk
Willi Carlisle Peculiar, Missouri DIRT-CD-0105 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 17 July 2024 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDIRT-CD-0105
labelFree Dirt Records
Release date14/10/2022
  • Carlisle, Willi: Banjo, Percussion, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals, Fretless Banjo
  • Chirs Stafford: Pedal Steel, Electric Guitar, Accordion
  • Grant D'Aubin: Bass, Guitar, Vocals, Backup Vocals, Bass, Mandolin, Acoustic Guitar, Bowed Bass, Harmony
  • Jim Kolacek: Drums
  • Joel Savoy: Fiddle, Baritone Guitar, Dobro, Accordion, Tambourine, Calliope, Cacophony, Organ
  • Max Baca: Bajo Sexto, Vocals
  • Nicholas Pence: Rhythm Bones
  • Ordinary Elephant (Crystal &Pete Amore): Backup Vocals

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Don’t call Willi Carlisle a poet, he’s a folk singer for the people. Like his hero Utah Phillips, Carlisle’s extraordinary gift for turning a phrase isn’t about high falutin’ pontificatin’; it’s about looking out for one another and connecting through our shared human condition. On his anticipated second album, the magnum opus Peculiar, Missouri, Carlisle makes the case across twelve epic tracks that love truly can conquer all. Born and raised on the Midwestern plains, Carlisle is a product of the punk to folk music pipeline that’s long fueled frustrated young men looking to resist. After falling for the rich ballads and tunes of the Ozarks, where he now lives, he began examining the full spectrum of American musical history. This insatiable stylistic diversity is obvious on Peculiar, Missouri which was produced by Grammy-winning engineer and Cajun musician Joel Savoy in rural Louisiana. The songs range from sardonic honky-tonk barnburners like “Vanlife” to the heartbreaking queer waltz “Life on the Fence.” The album also imbues class consciousness in songs like “Este Mundo,” a cowboy border ballad about water rights, and the title track’s existential talkin’ blues about a surreal panic attack in Walmart’s aisle five. Though Carlisle’s poetic words evoke the mystical American storytelling of Whitman, Sandburg, and cummings, ultimately this is bonafide populist folk music. Carlisle recognizes that the only thing holding us back from greatness is each other. With Peculiar, Missouri, he brings us one step closer to breaking down our divides.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Your Heart's A Big Tent03:38
      • 2.Life On The Fence03:26
      • 3.Tulsa's Last Magician04:55
      • 4.Vanlife04:46
      • 5.Este Mundo03:56
      • 6.I Won't Be Afraid03:57
      • 7.Buffalo Bill01:47
      • 8.The Down And Back01:45
      • 9.Peculiar, Missouri06:44
      • 10.The Grand Design03:45
      • 11.Goodnight Loving Trail03:57
      • 12.Rainbow Mid Life's Willow03:25
      • Total:46:01