Jazz  Contemporary
Florian Ross Trio Pigs & Fairies TPR201702 CD
5 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 31 May 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberTPR201702
labelToy Piano Records
Release date01/05/2017
Players/ContributorsMusicians Guest musician
  • Heller, Paul
  • Florian Ross

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Florian Ross, born 1972 and based in Cologne, Germany, is a musical explorer. His recordings (this is the 14th since 1998) focus on the multifaceted jazz tradition and his extraordinary handling of contemporary material. In all formations, from trio, quintet, string orchestra to brass ensemble, Ross succeeds in reconciling two seemingly different musical forms: improvised and composed. While many of his European colleagues consider it a virtue to distance themselves from the mainstream, another camp makes an effort to continue the American jazz tradition in Europe as authentically as possible - Ross’ music is a refreshing break from an often embarrassing programmatic context. With his third album in the Trio format, Ross focuses on diverse sounds and an eclectic mix of standard piano trio and modern jazz-fusion with electronic modernism. Sometimes getting transported to 70's proto funk/pop, sounding retro, yet new and fresh at the same time - spectacular audio craft that somehow makes all of the diverse styles meld effortlessly into each other.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Spam Trails03:53
      • 2.Slow Thinker05:10
      • 3.Spinning Kenny06:21
      • 4.Triumph of Spectacle04:37
      • 5.Trip-Wire04:28
      • 6.Calm04:31
      • 7.No Pun Intended04:33
      • 8.Until Then04:46
      • 9.Miasma04:41
      • 10.Friction03:18
      • 11.Think Slower04:06
      • Total:50:24