World Music  Portugal  Fado
Ricardo Ribeiro Respeitosa Mente 9545149 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 14 August 2020 Price: 17.53 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering Number9545149
Release date17/04/2020
  • Jarrod Cagwin: Percussion
  • João Paulo Esteves da Silva: Piano
  • Ribeiro, Ricardo: Voice, Guitar, Bass

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      "Respeitosa Mente", the new album of Ricardo Ribeiro is a totally different and unseen project, unlike anything the artist has been delivering us.

      Ribeiro carefully chose the musicians to together create this new record. He joined jazz pianist João Paulo Esteves da Silva, and percussionist Jarrod Cagwin, specialized in Oriental rhythms, having done most of his studies on Asian percussions.

      The poetry of diverse authors, mostly Portuguese, is the foundation of this work, a poetry of great sensitivity that was embodied by the musicality of these three friends in an unusual way, and where we can enjoy the powerful and captivating voice of Ricardo Ribeiro. About Ricardo Ribeiro’s new work, he found the following words to describe it:

      “This album is another path in my life. I joined two great musicians, friends of mine, so that together, each one with their own sensitivity, we could do the music that happened to us, that we wanted to do. It’s music and poetry. It’s an immense joy to give this piece of art to the world.”

      “Entertainment is to forget life. Art is to remember life.”

      It is a superior cultural product that came out of these three musicians!

      With that said, Ricardo Ribeiro, João Paulo Esteves da Silva and Jarrod Cagwin concerts are also unforgettable and unique! The same voice, the same strength and passion, another new musical experience!

      Considered one of the best male voices in fado of his generation, Ricardo Ribeiro is now bringing us a new project that moves away from fado, but still dazzles both his public as well as the critics.

      Released on April 26th 2019, “Respeitosa Mente” (Respect Fully) reached second place on the Portuguese record chart on the first week of its release, and both the record and the presentation concerts in Oporto (22nd May, Casa da Música) and Lisbon (1st June, CCB) were wonderfully received by the public and by the critics.

      This is a project that gathers three friends and amazing musicians: Portuguese jazz pianist João Paulo Esteves da Silva, north-American percussionist Jarrod Cagwin, and Ribeiro himself who composes some of the themes of the record. The three artists gave original and magnificent music to highly sensitive poetry chosen by them.

      Along with Ribeiro’s magnificent voice, known in records such as “Hoje é Assim, Amanhã Não Sei” (2016) or “Porta do Coração” (2010, chosen by Songlines Magazine as “Top of the World Album”), the public surrendered to Esteves da Silva and Cagwin’s creativity and genius. Be it on record or in live concerts, the new work gathers very good reviews.

      Ribeiro has been presenting his new project Respeitosa Mente to the public, and last October 2019 he took this amazing project to Münsterland Festival, in Germany, where it sold out!

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Depois De Ti03:46
      • 2.Envoi02:55
      • 3.Atraso04:26
      • 4.Alla Luna04:40
      • 5.Derrota04:09
      • 6.Um Espaço E Duas Laranjeiras03:15
      • 7.Canto Franciscano05:01
      • 8.Vou Fumar Um Cigarro02:38
      • 9.Deserta Liberdade04:46
      • 10.As Mondadeiras05:08
      • 11.O Sítio04:56
      • 12.NáNá09:25
      • Total:55:05