World Music  Norwegen
Tora Augestad Dialogues GRCD4601 2 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 08 February 2023 Price: 21.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

Format2 Audio CD
Ordering NumberGRCD4601
Release date20/12/2019

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      This spring Tora Augestad won, together with the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, the Norwegian Grammy for the album “Portraying Passion”.

      On her latest release “Dialogues”, Augestad goes all the way down in format and presents a double album where each song is a duet with musicians she has worked with over the last 20 years. The record describes a special artistry; Augestad is known as a genre juggler and front-runner who takes every musical landscape she moves into seriously. The duo format is intimate and the songs are from Henry Purcell via Schubert, Jan Eggum and Kari Bremnes to newly written songs by Mathias Eick and Trygve Seim have a subdued feel. The double record follows a day and tries to transcend genres. Classic pearls glide seamlessly into evergreens from “The American songbook”, to recent songs by Geirr Tveitt and John Cage. Once again, it’s a unique album from her hand.

      The musicians she brings with her are Trygve Seim, Christian Eggen and Svante Henryson, Frode Barth, Frank Hovland (Bergen), Bendix Dethleffsen (from Ibsen Award winner Marthaler's theater productions), Torbjørn Dyrud, Erlend Skomsvoll, Jørn Simen Øverli and the Swiss baroque specialist Martin Zeller. In addition, her own ensemble is Music for a while with Stian Carstensen, Mathias Eick, Trygve Brøske, Pål Hausken and Martin Taxt as co-musicians.

      Tora Augestad

      Tora Augestad’s versatility inspires composers, theatre directors and conductors. By commissioning new works and through the collaboration with her various ensembles she continuously seeks new challenges and the exchange of artistic ideas. She knows how to be theatrically convincing and how to engage her vocal capabilities, which defy easy classification, in a compelling manner.

      Born in Bergen in 1979, the singer/actress Tora Augestad studied classical music and jazz singing in Oslo and Stockholm, devoting herself principally to repertoire of the 20th and 21st centuries. While studying in Berlin and Munich she intensified her involvement in German music before graduating in cabaret sing- ing from the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo.

      In 2019 / 2020, Tora Augestad will be in Christoph Marthaler‘s new production Nach den letzten Tagen. Ein Spa¨tabend at the RuhrTriennale and in the role of Mary Lou in Paul Abraham’s operetta Ma¨rchen im Grandhotel giving her debut at the Theater Luzern. Furthermore, she performs Bekannte Ge- fu¨hle. Gemischte Gesichter at the Festival d’Automne Paris and sings Berio‘s Folk Songs with the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne and Joshua Weilerstein as well as Reinbert de Leeuw's Im wunderscho¨nen Monat Mai with the Oslo Philharmonic for the inauguration of the new Munch Museum Oslo.

      The most striking thing about this extraordinary artist is how versatile she is. (...) Tora Augestad transcends conventional labels. (Opernwelt)

      Tracklist hide

      hide CD 1
      • 1.Monicas Vals (Waltz for Debby)04:23
      • 2.My favorite things04:21
      • 3.Ouvre02:57
      • 4.Hôtel01:59
      • 5.Come again05:04
      • 6.Severn Meadows03:11
      • 7.Ta meg med05:03
      • 8.Gåte ved gate04:25
      • 9.Septemberstille04:50
      • 10.When you wish upon a star04:15
      • 11.All I want to hear01:50
      • 12.Captures03:46
      • Total:46:04
      more CD 2
      • 1.Shall I come sweet love to thee04:10
      • 2.Lær meg å kjenne dine veie04:32
      • 3.A nightingale sang in Berkley Square05:14
      • 4.You can close your eyes03:58
      • 5.Wenn ich mir was wünschen dürfte04:40
      • 6.No Storm03:48
      • 7.The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs02:24
      • 8.Die Nebensonnen02:48
      • 9.Music for a while03:47
      • 10.Mjukt skjer åra03:49
      • 11.Kom Natt02:26
      • 12.Lonely House04:04
      • 13.Des Baches Wiegenlied04:05
      • Total:49:45