Pop  Experimental
Elifantree & Tölöläb Blood Moon ELP-201912 LP/CD
1 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 07 February 2023 Price: 25.99 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatVinyl LP / Audio CD
Ordering NumberELP-201912
labelEclipse Music
Release date13/12/2019

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      The trailblazing experimental trio Elifantree joins forces with the leading contemporary wind ensemble Tölöläb for a very special album. Blood Moon, set for release in Finland on November 1st, is a true out-of-body experience of celestial improvisation from masters of their craft.

      The piece was composed while the two groups were in residence at Our Festival in 2018, curated the by world renowned violinist Pekka Kuusisto. Inspired by the festival's etherial themes of the human soul and its many facets, the last notes of the improvisation-filled sessions were done during an actual lunar eclipse. Thus "Blood Moon" was born.

      • Anni Elif – vocals, cello
      • Pauli Lyytinen – saxophones, EWI, live electronics, drum machine
      • Olavi Louhivuori – drums
      • Taavi Oramo – live electronics
      • Antti Salovaara – bassoon
      • Saku Mattila – oboe
      • Turkka Inkilä – flute, shakuhachi, live electronics

      The inspirational milieu just next to the home of Jean Sibelius himself, the lunar eclipse and the esoteric theme of the festival gave excellent fuel to the two ambitious bands to collaborate in a once-in-a-lifetime setting. Blood Moon is, thus, a truly unique release. Recorded live while the two groups are engaged deep in improvisation the album opens with the very first take of the sessions and closes with the very last notes of sessions, played during the lunar eclipse. Even though the two bands come from different backgrounds, jazz improvisation and contemporary classical respectively, Elifantree and Tölöläb merge together into a singular musical unit. “I'm deeply moved by the way we managed to open up ourselves in this musical meeting and I'm so proud and exited about this album”, says vocalist and cellist Anni Elif.

      The album was released to a limited audience on Spotify at the end of September and was selected immediately to the playlist "New Classical Releases". The album release concert will be held on November 28th in Helsinki.

      Formed in 2007 Helsinki-based Elifantree delivers an experimental musical trip on the border between improvised and progressive music. With strong rhythmical textures, tenor saxophone, ambient soundscapes and dazzling vocals they create a sound much larger and wider than the sum of their parts. Elifantree has performed widely in Europe and beyond and has gained a strong reputation as an energetic, unrestrained and constantly surprising live act. Before Blood Moon they have released four critically acclaimed albums; Love & Trees in 2010, Time Out in 2012, Movers and Shakers in 2015 and Anemone in 2018. Their live performances have been highlights of many high profile festivals such as Fusion Festial (GER), Südtirol Jazz Festival (IT), Ljubljana Jazz Festival (SLO), Flow Festival and Tampere Biennale in Finland. This November they are perfoming at Hong Kong's Queen Elizabeth Stadium as a part of the World Festival.

      Tölöläb, formed in 2014 in Helsinki, is an contemporary art music ensemble. The members of the group are all respected members of the highly regarded classical music scene in Finland. Tölöläb's music combines woodwinds, electronics and free improvisation. While the members’ primary background is in classical music the group's methods and influences come from a wide range of genres, ranging from western medieval music to EDM or hardcore noise. Collaborators of Tölöläb have equally varied backgrounds. Tölöläb’s natural habitat includes concert halls and churches as well as clubs, festivals, restaurants, abandoned lighthouses and trams. Tölöläb has collaborated with some of the biggest names in Finnish jazz and hiphop as well as orchestras such as Tapiola Sinfonietta.

      Tracklist hide

      LP/CD 1
      • 1.Great Whales07:49
      • 2.Motion06:52
      • 3.Horsehead Nebula08:53
      • 4.Out Of Body05:26
      • 5.Sielu01:16
      • 6.Queen Ant03:24
      • 7.Alnitak05:46
      • 8.Mintaka05:53
      • Total:45:19