World Music  USA  Folk
Jake La Botz They're Coming For Me (LP) HSV705 LP
2 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 21 June 2024 Price: 20.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatVinyl LP
Ordering NumberHSV705
labelFree Dirt Records / Hi-Style Records
Release date14/02/2020

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Jake La Botz brings a lifetime of unconventional stories crackling to cinematic life on his new album They're Coming for Me. Produced by Jimmy Sutton (Pokey LaFarge, JD McPherson) at Hi-Style Studios, the record is an impressive showcase of La Botz' creative storytelling chops. Contemplative, spiritual, and often inclined toward the absurd, the album's 10 tracks include a tale written from the perspective of a bank robber moaning gospel hymns while barreling towards a grisly end, a hilarious, snarky riff from Bigfoot on his struggle to stay relevant amidst the modern 24-hour news cycle, and a recent Nashville transplant's observations on the everyday reality for working musicians in Music City. They're Coming For Me deftly ties threads from La Botz's background in Chicago blues, gospel, early rock 'n roll, American folksong traditions, and a dash of country twang into a grooving knot of warm-timbred Americana. The songs jump off the needle like the words of a profound and gripping American novel, deepening with each listen as layers of meaning unfold across a rich musical landscape.

      Tracklist hide

      LP 1
      • Side A
        • 1.They're Coming for Me03:06
        • 2.Johnnybag the Superglue03:17
        • 3.Without the Weight03:57
        • 4.The Bankrobber's Lament04:16
        • 5.Snow Angel03:08
      • Side B
        • 6.Hey Bigfoot04:04
        • 7.The Terrible Game03:42
        • 8.Grace of the Leaves04:29
        • 9.Nashville, Nashville03:37
        • 10.Are We Saying Goodbye?03:16
      • Total:36:52