World Music  Lateinamerika  Chile
Daniel Puente Encina Disparo POLV01 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 30 November 2022 Price: 16.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberPOLV01
Release date26/11/2018

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Caribbean-Blues: furious, cool and totally poetic. Daniel Puente Encina’s first solo album Disparo (Shot) is a courageous and remarkable production, which impacts with minimalistic arrangement, creating a powerful sound. An astonishing electric guitar, which seems to have been plucked from the muddy swamps of the Mississippi, accompanied by percussion instruments such as congas and djembes and above all, Daniel Puente Encina's charismatic and rocksoulful voice produce an exciting style: ”Furious Latin Soul”, as he calls his new creation. From R&B to Caribbean Son, from Reggae to Afro-Peruvian music, from Mambo to Bolero. Thrilling music that gets under your skin. Daniel Puente Encina: ”My songs are like a series of short films in which the lyrics are the script the music is the photography. The album pays homage to black rooted music of the three Americas. I imagined a Bluesman of the 20s who got lost in Cuba."

      Disparo contains a new version of "Botellas contra el pavimento" as a tribute to Daniel's very first, anti-fascist band "Los Pinochet Boys" (1984-1987).

      Best known for "Niños Con Bombas" (1994-1999) and "Polvorosa" (2000-2011) Daniel Puente Encina started to produce under his own name in 2012. Many of his songs can be heard in Fatih Akin movies such as "Short Sharp Shock", "In July" and the multi-award winning hit "Head On".

      The digipack includes a 16-page booklet with the lyrics in English and Spanish.

      1. Mike Tyson: The story of a typical ghetto kid, in his hard lesson in day to day survival through pain, anger and desire. The atmosphere is Heavy Afro Funk.

      2. El diablo espera por mí - The devil is waiting for me: Despairing story about unrequited love set in the rural Caribbean of superstition and whores at the beginning of the century. Crossing road Blues and rum under palm trees in a suffocating humidity.

      3. Déjame fuera - Leave me out: The end of a love affair and a trip to the unknown in a Gospel Soul atmosphere, with clear religious references in the style of the Fateful Days that lie ahead from the New Church of the other side of the street.

      4. Disparo - Shot: Disastrous love story with a bad ending set in the humidity of the Caribbean Sea.

      5. Lío - Trouble: Road Movie about a pair of gangsters during their trip to the black heart of destiny. Boogaloo atmosphere, L&B (Latin & Blues)

      6. Azul oscuro - Dark blue: Heartrending, honest declaration of love in a Blue Bossa atmosphere.

      7. Amor de abajo - Love from below: Threat of eternal love set in a whore house bordering on Mambo Blues.

      8. Pa' tenerte aquí - To have you here: Declaration of unconditional love set in epic Latin American Cordillerano mixed with Afro Blues from Mali.

      9. Babylon: The story of an eccentric loner with no future expectations, who shuts out the world from his mountain refuge. The atmosphere is oneiric-paranoid through the psychedelic melody, ending in heavy Afro-Caribbean rhythm.

      10. Botellas contra el pavimento - Bottles against the asphalt: Personal tribute to the anti-fascist Pinochet Boys, a cover version of their song with a rapid rock blues and desperado 60's beat in the style of Swinging London.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Mike Tyson03:28
      • 2.El Diablo Espera por Mí02:39
      • 3.Déjame Fuera03:48
      • 4.Disparo03:44
      • 5.Lío03:00
      • 6.Azul Oscuro04:18
      • 7.Amor de Abajo03:09
      • 8.Pa' Tenerte Aquí03:30
      • 9.Babylon02:45
      • 10.Botellas Contra el Pavimento03:18
      • Total:33:39