Jazz  Contemporary
Raoul Björkenheim & Juhani Aaltonen Awakening ECD-201862 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 20 July 2020 Price: 17.53 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberECD-201862
labelEclipse Music
Release date08/06/2018

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Two giants of Finnish jazz and progressive rock, Juhani Aaltonen (Tasavallan Presidentti, UMO Jazz Orchestra) and Raoul Björkenheim (Krakatau, Scorch Trio, eCsTaCy), join forces on an intimate duo album, Awakening.

      Recorded live at the 2016 edition of the Tampere Jazz Happening these two masters improvise an atmospheric texture combined with magnificent melodies. The album is an unique recording of spotanious, magical moments that can now be enjoyed by all friends of improvised music.

      A true veteran, Juhani Aaltonen (b. 1935) is one of the most prominent Finnish wind players. He became famous as a member of the prog rock group Tasavallan Presidentti in the late 60's and early 70's and has since fronted many ensembles of his own. He is a founder member of the UMO Jazz Orchestra and has been awarded the Jazz-Emma (Finnish Grammy equivalent) and the Yrjö award (Jazz Musician of the Year). His biography was published in 2017.

      Raoul Björkheim (b. 1956) made his mark in the prog rock and jazz scene in the 1980’s by his collaboration together with Edward Vesala and as the front man of the Krakatau. He has since frequently recorded with several top jazz musicians in the world and as a soloist for Finnish orchestras such as UMO Jazz Orchestra, The Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra. He has won various awards including the Yrjö award and the Jazz-Emma. Currently Björkheim works and records as the leader in groups such as eCsTaCy and TRIAD.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Kaleidophonic06:48
      • 2.Reflections10:15
      • 3.Into Light08:50
      • 4.Path with Heart04:45
      • 5.Awakening05:15
      • 6.Eyes of the Wise06:26
      • Total:42:19