World Music  Allgemein
Windstreken Folies CUP8065 CD
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 25 January 2022 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberCUP8065
Release date23/02/2018
  • Jörg Brinkmann: cello
  • Kamal Hors: ud & voice
  • Pieter de Mast: soprano saxophone & flutes
  • Sebastiaan van Delft: organ, harmonium, Fender Rhodes
  • Udo Demandt: percussion

Guest musician
  • Leonard Evers: trumpet/flugelhorn
  • Nicole Jordan: soprano
  • Oene van Geel: viola

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      The name of the Dutch band Windstreken will sound strange to non-Dutch people. It has a double meaning. Literally ‘windstreken’ can be translated as ‘corners of the earth’, but there is a playful association as well: ‘wind’ refers to the wind instruments the band uses.

      Windstreken combines jazz improvisation with medieval and contemporary classical music as well as Indian and North African traditions. The eclectic line-up of alto flute, saxophone, ud, classical organ, cello and percussion is further enhanced with the special addition of some renowned guest musicians, Nicole Jordan (soprano) and Leonard Evers (trumpet/flugelhorn).

      Windstreken was founded in 2004 by flutist/saxophonist Pieter de Mast. The band has released five cd’s and performed on many national and international stages, for example, the international Organ Festival, Malta Arts Festival, Gaudeamus Festival and Sfinks mixed (B).


      Pieter de Mast (soprano saxophone & flutes) Sebastiaan van Delft (organ, harmonium, Fender Rhodes) Kamal Hors (ud & voice) Jörg Brinkmann (cello) Udo Demandt (percussion)

      Guest musicians:

      Nicole Jordan (soprano) Leonard Evers (trumpet/flugelhorn) Oene van Geel (viola)

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Jumelles04:58
      • 2.Indian Summer03:33
      • 3.Folies06:16
      • 4.She's Like The Swallow03:31
      • 5.Paraglider05:15
      • 6.Barqu07:16
      • 7.Douce Dame jolie03:57
      • 8.Hautes Fagnes03:22
      • 9.Lamma Bada Yatathanna04:09
      • 10.Prelude06:48
      • 11.C'est un amant ouvrez la porte02:48
      • 12.Oktober03:39
      • 13.Song04:16
      • Total:59:48