Pop  Allgemein
XTC Black Sea (CD/Blu-Ray) APEBD104 CD/BluRay
In Stock. Immediately available. Shipping till 10 July 2020 Price: 25.33 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD / BluRay Disc
Ordering NumberAPEBD104
Release date08/12/2017

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      KERRANGGG!! – It’s not necessarily a sound associated with XTC per se but, as Andy Partridge writes in his sleeve-notes, with the twin guitar line-up now fully settled, relentless touring schedule & thoughts of recording with Lillywhite & Padgham in the studio where the same engineer/producer combo had established that drum sound, thinking of XTC in “rock band” terms was the ideal approach for the multitude of songs Partridge & Moulding were individually producing. Preceded by a set of live demos (all included on the Blu-Ray) at Phonogram studios, XTC knew exactly what it wanted from a fourth album – even down to the original album title: “Work Under Pressure” (which helps make more sense of the sleeve photo also), prior to setting foot in The Townhouse for the main recordings. The switch to “Black Sea” was made only to allay the then band manager’s sensitivity to the title being interpreted as a criticism of his management style. More Power Rock than Power Pop, when released in Sept. 1980, the album became XTC’s first Top 20 chart album in the UK, narrowly missed the Top 40 (No.41) in the USA where it was issued in November, but spent an impressive 24 weeks on the Billboard chart nonetheless. Generals And Majors & Towers Of London provided twin back to back Top 40 UK singles released either side of the album in a tight eight weeks’ release space in September & October, while Sgt. Rock propelled the band back into the UK top 20 in January 1981. The sense of immediacy, the rush of a band fully living up to its potential is as apparent now as it was when the album first came out & Steven Wilson’s new stereo & 5.1 mixes bring out every nuance of the original performances on what was, already, one of the best engineered & produced albums of the era.

      With numerous extra tracks: including the post-album single Take This Town from the soundtrack of the Times Square film, unissued single versions, mixes, additional tracks from singles of the period, solo demos by Andy Partridge & videos for three of the singles, this is the definitive edition of Black Sea.

      Tracklist hide

      hideVol. 1: CD
      • 1.Respectable Streeet03:39
      • 2.Generals and Majors04:08
      • 3.Living Through Another Cuba04:53
      • 4.Love at First Sight03:12
      • 5.Rocket From a Bottle03:37
      • 6.No Language in Our Lungs04:53
      • 7.Towers of London05:27
      • 8.Paper and Iron04:20
      • 9.Optimisms Flames04:22
      • 10.Sgt. Rock (is Going to Help Me)04:03
      • 11.Travels in Nihilon07:16
      • 12.Respectable Streeet (single version)03:08
      • 13.Smokeless Zone03:50
      • 14.Don't Lose Your Temper02:32
      • 15.Take This Town04:09
      • 16.Ban The Bomb02:40
      • 17.Towers of London (early version)06:11
      • 18.The Somnambulist04:38
      • 19.History of Rock 'n' Roll (Andy Partridge Solo)00:21
      • Total:01:17:19
      moreVol. 2: BluRay
      • 1.2017 5.1 Mix
      • 2.Additional 2017 5.1 Mixes
      • 3.2017 Stereo Mix
      • 4.Additional 2017 Stereo Mixes
      • 5.Instrumental Mixes
      • 6.Original Stereo Mix
      • 7.Additional Stereo Mixes
      • 8.XTC Phonogram Studios Recordings
      • 9.Andy Partridge Demos Phonogram Studios Recordings
      • 10.Andy Partridge Demos Town Hall Recordings
      • 11.Videos