Hörbuch  Frankreich  Philisophie
Tony Gatlif Djam, Bande Originale Tony Gatlif FA8546 CD
Currently not in stock. Available in 1-2 weeks Price: 15.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberFA8546
labelFremeaux & Associes
Release date06/10/2017

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      "I discovered rebetiko in 1983 when I went to Turkey to present my film "Les Princes". The music developed in the slums of Athens and Thessaloniki, and then moved into the islands when Atatürk chased the Greeks out of Turkey. There is never any anger in this music; but you can hear revolt and melancholy, as in all the music I love. It's music for the unpopular, but people who are proud to be what they are. It's subversive music… The lyrics in rebetiko songs are words that can cure (…) Leaving your own country can be positive: new horizons, another way of living together… What I like about rebetiko is the assembly inside, West and East. That's where I come from: West and East have been inside of me since I was born." Tony GATLIF After his "Geronimo", an admirable portrait of the tense relations between traditional culture and urban identity, filmmaker Tony Gatlif has now given us Djam, a masterful original soundtrack devoted to the music known as rebetiko. The humanity behind this popular music of Greek origin, a music of exile, migration and the cultural mix, stems from its origins in the region that ties Europe to Asia, a giant crossroads for migrating civilisations and historically a region of economic crisis. It is the centre of the world. Tony Gatlif is a filmmaker who symbolizes rhythm and liberty, and music is a central element in his filmography, with one César Award already for "Gadjo Dilo" and another for "Vengo". His music in Djam follows the initiatory voyage of the heroine from Istanbul to Mytilene on Lesbos, and in turn its melodies breathe whisps of drunkenness, emotion and jubilant frenzy. Augustin BONDOUX & Patrick FRÉMEAUX

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Arapina
      • 2.Agapo mia pantremeni
      • 3.Istemem babacim
      • 4.Aman doktor
      • 5.Cafe aman
      • 6.Mia smyrnia sto parathyri
      • 7.Aman aman
      • 8.Danse de solon tsakitzis
      • 9.Tsakitzis
      • 10.Thermastis
      • 11.Kaixis
      • 12.Ti se melei esenane