World Music  USA  Folk
Hackensaw Boys Charismo DRT-CD-0078 CD
4 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 28 June 2024 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDRT-CD-0078
labelFree Dirt Records
Release date22/04/2016

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Charismo is the Hackensaw Boys record you’ve been waiting to hear. The 11-track album feels like the zenith release of the band’s 17 years, gathering their diverse life experiences and myriad of roots influences, and crystallizing them into a magnum opus on the Hackensaw way of being. Traditional Appalachian and Delta music lay the groundwork, but it’s injected with a heavy dose of the contemporary, good-times-roll kind of spit and vinegar the band has become known for over the years.

      Produced by Larry Campbell--who has lent his talents to Bob Dylan, Levon Helm, and countless others--Charismo sees the band reeled in and slightly refined, though still as spirited as ever. The songs (all written by longtime Hackensaws David Sickmen and Ferd Moyse) are tinged with an attitude of scrappy resilience, spinning tales and metaphors of everyday, working class struggles and triumphs. With Campbell’s production, the Hackensaw’s somewhat casual, porch-front aesthetic is sharpened around the edges, focusing in on the simple beauty of their melodies and the earnestness in their delivery.

      The name of the album is the same as the percussive instrument invented by Justin Neuhardt (who played with the band in its early days) that has been employed nightly since the band’s maiden tour 16 years ago. The charismo is made of recycled wood and scrap – tin cans, hubcaps, and so on – and is constantly broken down and re-assembled as the parts wear out and new ones are found. Much like the fluid, ever-changing nature of the instrument, Charismo shows us that Hackensaw Boys are always moving forward like a mighty wheel turning, continuing to spread the (not quite) bygone spirit of down-home music to old and new audiences alike.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Don't Bet Against Me03:23
      • 2.By and By03:03
      • 3.Content Not Seeking Thrills (Ain't You?)03:03
      • 4.Flora03:31
      • 5.Happy For Us in the Down03:53
      • 6.Limousin Lady03:19
      • 7.Ol' Nick03:06
      • 8.The Sweet03:34
      • 9.Wolves Howling03:39
      • 10.You Want Me to Change03:37
      • 11.World Upside Down03:18
      • Total:37:26