

Galileo Music Communication GmbH - Dachauer Str. 5-7 - 82256 Fürstenfeldbruck



Mortality Volume II Cat-Ref. Barcode Release date Label Style

ECD2023200 1971889587878 15.11.2024 Eclipse Music (LC-99999) Jazz / Contemporary

The Finnish jazz supergroup Mortality is set to release their highly anticipated second album, titled 'Volume II'. The album, which will be released on September 6, will be available on vinyl LP, CD, and streaming platforms. It once again features the leading figures of Finnish jazz, with guest appearances by guitarist Teemu Viinikainen and the virtuosic vocalist Teri Mantere. The release of the new album will be celebrated with two concerts: on September 11 at Sellosali in Espoo and on September 12 at G Livelab in Tampere.

Mortality captivated both audiences and critics with their debut album released at the end of 2019. The debut album, heavier in theme than words can express, carried the emotional burden of composer and producer Tapio Ylinen's personal tragedy. Skillfully blending contemporary jazz with elements of progressive rock, the album unfolded as a musical journey full of sensitivity and hope. The album received critical acclaim all over Europe, was nominated for the Finnish equivalent of the Grammy Award for Best Jazz Album and got producer-composer Ylinen awarded personally by the national broadcaster YLE.

Following the successful release of their debut album, the band's composer/producer has been working on a beautiful sequel to the original release. The twists and turns of personal life continue to serve as the undercurrent of the compositions.

The new album 'Volume II' creates melancholic tones and bittersweet harmonies, balancing delicately on the edge of joy and melancholy. The central theme of the album is the dualism of beginnings and endings. The Big Bang and the expansion (and eventual cooling) of the universe are reflected in the titles of the tracks, as are births and deaths.

Tapio Ylinen's soulful compositions come to life with a new lineup featuring Jori Huhtala on bass, Mika Kallio on drums, Mikael Myrskog on keyboards, and Johannes Granroth on guitar. The top-level brass and wind section includes Manuel Dunkel, Max Zenger, Mikko Pettinen, and 'Gunu' Karjalainen. Additionally, guitarist Teemu Viinikainen makes a special appearance, as does vocalist Teri Mantere, whose reinterpretation of Ylinen's composition 'Desperate Measures'—originally released by the progressive band 5th Season—is sure to be one of the year's most remarkable vocal performances in Finnish jazz. 'Desperate Measures' will be released as the third single from the album on August 16.

Band member

Johannes Granroth Jori Huhtala Manuel Dunkel electric guitar electric bass & double bass tenor saxophone

Galileo Music Communication GmbH Dachauer Str. 5-7 - 82256 Fürstenfeldbruck Tel: +49 (8141) 226 130 - Fax: 08141 226 133 - Email: daniel@galileo-mc.de Internet: www.galileomusic.de



Galileo Music Communication GmbH - Dachauer Str. 5-7 - 82256 Fürstenfeldbruck

Max Zenger Mika Kallio Mikael Myrskog Mikko "Gunu" Karjalainen Mikko Pettinen Tapio Ylinen alto saxophone drums keyboards trumpet & flugelhorn trumpet electric and acoustic guitars

Guest artist

Teemu Viinikainen Teri Mantere guitar vocals

Producer

Tapio Ylinen

aufnahmestudio

Joonas Saikkonen, Finnvox Studios

Mastering

Jarno Alho, Alho Audio Mastering

Tracklist

1.	For Oona (prologue) M: Tapio Ylinen	03:32
2.	Towards Darkness M: Tapio Ylinen	05:57
3.	The Expanding Universe, part 1 M: Tapio Ylinen	06:22
4.	The Expanding Universe, part 2 M: Tapio Ylinen	05:51
5.	Mortality, part 2 M: Tapio Ylinen	08:04
6.	For Oona M: Tapio Ylinen	05:01
7.	Desperate Measures M: Tapio Ylinen T: Tapio Ylinen	08:13