Pop  Allgemein
Barbara Streisand The Early Years CDSGP2344 CD
Currently not in stock. Available in 4-6 weeks Price: 9.48 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberCDSGP2344
Release date09/04/2021

Press infoshide

More releases of this artisthide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      The American singer, actress and filmmaker Barbra Streisand, was born Barbara Joan Streisand on the 24th April 1942 in Brooklyn, New York City, USA.

      She has achieved massive success in the many fields of the entertainment world, internationally, in a career now spanning six decades.

      This digitally re-mastered and enhanced CD compilation focuses on her very first professional recordings made in 1962 basically for the Columbia and RCA Records labels.

      She is one of the few entertainers to be awarded a Grammy, an Emmy, an Oscar, and a Tony Award (EGOT).

      Barbra has been nominated for 43 USA Grammy Awards, of which she was awarded 8, and in 1992 the Grammy Legend Award, followed in 1994 by the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award, and inducted into the Grammy Hall Of Fame 4 times.

      Beginning her career performing in Broadway theatres and nightclubs in the early 1960’s, her incredibly unique and talented voice led to some appearances on some various television shows, which led to a recording agreement with Columbia Records (CBS).

      Her great voice and choice of tunes led to her first debut being an immediate success, entitled “The Barbra Streisand Album” (1963), and this was followed by “People” (1964), “The Way We Were” (1974), “Guilty” (1980) and “Higher Ground” (1997), and others plus top the US Billboard 200 Chart with 11 albums, and on top of all this she has achieved five number one singles released on the USA Billboard Hot 100 Chart.

      She won her first Oscar or Academy Award for best actress in “Funny Girl” in 1968, and other successful films followed such as “Hello Dolly” (1969), “The Way We Were” (1973), “A Star Is Born” (1976), “Nuts” (1987) and “The Prince Of Tides” (1991).

      Her composition “Evergreen” included in the film “A Star Is Born” (1976), won her a second Oscar (Academy Award), making her the first female to be honoured this way as a composer.

      Her film project in 1983 “Yentl”, made her the first woman to write, produce, direct and star in a major studio film, and it won an Oscar for Best Musical Score, and the Golden Globe Award for best director, to which she became the first and only woman to achieve this award.

      Barbra Streisand has sold more than 150 million records globally, and many, many other awards for her astonishing energy and talents. She is one of the best-selling recording artists of all time.

      Her paternal grandparents were Jewish immigrants from Galicia (Poland–Ukraine) and her maternal grandparents were Jewish immigrants from the Russian Empire.

      Barbra continues to record and perform to great acclaim in her extraordinary and highly successful career, and much has been written about this great artist.

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.When The Sun Comes Out
      • 2.A Taste Of Honey
      • 3.Happy Days Are Here Again
      • 4.A Sleepin' Bee
      • 5.My Coloring Book
      • 6.Have I Stayed Too Long At The Fair
      • 7.Lover Come Back To Me
      • 8.At The Codfish Ball (Take 2)
      • 9.I'm Not A Well Man
      • 10.Bewitched
      • 11.Ballad Of The Garment Trade
      • 12.I Had Myself A True Love
      • 13.Miss Marmelstein
      • 14.Soon It's Gonna Rain
      • 15.Status Quo
      • 16.What Good Is Love
      • 17.Doing The Reactionary
      • 18.Not Cricket To Picket
      • 19.Nobody Makes A Pass At Me
      • 20.Four Little Angels Of Peace