Jazz  Blues
Lightnin' Hopkins Lightnin' Hopkins FWLP03822 LP
4 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 26 April 2019 Price: 23.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatVinyl LP
Ordering NumberFWLP03822
labelSmithsonian Folkways
Release date03/08/2018

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Texas bluesman Samuel “Lightnin’” Hopkins’ musical career was reignited by this 1959 release. With the aid of a little gin and a borrowed acoustic guitar, musicologist Sam Charters recorded Hopkins in his tiny apartment in Houston, Texas. The result is nine tracks of pure country blues and Hopkins’ reminiscences of his time performing with Blind Lemon Jefferson.

      This vinyl reissue is part of Folkways Records’ 70th anniversary celebration series, revisiting some of the most iconic and in_uential albums released on the record label, starting with Lightnin’ Hopkins (FS-LP-03822), Woody Guthrie (FW-LP-02485), and Jospeh Spence (FW-LP-03844).

      Remastered from original LP Master Tapes in 1959 in Classic Folkways style tip-on jackets featuring original liner notes.

      Tracklist hide

      LP 1
      • Side A
        • 1.Penitentiary Blues02:55
        • 2.Bad Luck and Trouble03:49
        • 3.Come Go Home with Me03:56
        • 4.Trouble Stay `Way from My Door02:10
        • 5.See That My Grave is Kept Clean03:13
      • Side B
        • 6.Goin' Back to Florida02:17
        • 7.Reminiscenses of Blind Lemon02:47
        • 8.Fan It02:36
        • 9.Tell Me, Baby04:18
        • 10.She's Mine04:18
      • Total:32:19